News Release

Commissioner Myers Elected as Markets+ MSC Chairman

Phoenix, Ariz.— At its May 17, 2024, meeting the Markets+ State Committee (MSC) elected Commissioner Nick Myers as its next chairman.

The MSC is a standing committee of Markets+, a western day-ahead market operated by the Southwest Power Pool (SPP), formed to allow state regulators to provide their perspectives on pertinent matters related to the market. The MSC is currently composed of regulators from Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.  

According to SPP, Markets + is “a conceptual bundle of services proposed by SPP that would centralize day-ahead and real-time unit commitment and dispatch.” SPP filed the Markets+ Tariff with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) on March 29, 2024.

As chairman, Commissioner Myers will lead the MSC as it continues to provide input to the Markets+ Independent Panel (MIP), Markets+ Executive Committee (MPEC), and any other task force on matters deemed pertinent by the MSC, including initiative prioritization, market operations, and policy issues.

“I would like to thank the members of the MSC for this opportunity,” said Commissioner Myers, “I look forward to working together with my fellow Commissioners to ensure our varied state interests continue to be represented in the development of the Markets+ Tariff and protocols.”  

Idaho Commissioner, John R. Hammond, Jr., will join Commissioner Myers as vice chair of the MSC.

Commissioner Myers currently serves as vice chair of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners’ (NARUC) Subcommittee on Nuclear Issues-Waste Disposal. He also serves on NARUC’s Committee on Critical Infrastructure, the Western Resource Adequacy Program Committee of State Representatives (WRAP-COSR) and is an active member of the NARUC-NASEO Advanced Nuclear State Collaborative.

For more information about Commissioner Myers’s role as chairman of the MSC, please contact Amanda Hasty at

Arizona Corporation Commission

1200 W. Washington Street

Phoenix, AZ 85007


Corporations Division

1300 W. Washington Street

Phoenix, AZ 85007


Tucson Office (Walk-ins only)

400 W. Congress Street

Tucson, AZ 85701